poem for Trayvon Martin and other dead brown boys

trayvonmartin

George Zimmerman’s trial begins today. I thought it appropriate to post the poem that I wrote last year after Trayvon’s murder. I am praying for justice.

poem for Trayvon Martin and other dead brown boys

The delight of the airplane

is what sticks in my eye:

 

ground-bound, but the sky

is a butterfly you’re cupping

in your palms.

 

Just a few more beats

of heart and wing

and you could have been

in the blue, arms or engine

pumping.

 

I want us all to live

in your eyes:

 

to see how

in one breath

a boy can be

dreaming

and in the next

be a leaf

 

fluttering

carried away

 

red,

then gray,

then gone.

 

 

.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “poem for Trayvon Martin and other dead brown boys

  1. Robert Cole says:

    Makes me cry for all of us.

  2. I like your poem. Here’s my own I just wrote last night inspired by Trayvon Martin. Please, if you and anyone else reading this find it meaningful in any way, share the link on your Facebook page and/or via mass email. That’s the only way my poem can travel to as many people as possible. http://drmandler.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/trayvon-martin-in-the-dark-poem/ Thank you very much.

Drop some knowledge

